Here we go again

I’ve been feeling a trifle guilty about neglecting this blog for so long. I think I got tired of being angry and ranting about the state of the world – not that it stopped me doing it verbally rather than in the written word; and I also had a couple of pretty serious outbursts on Musings, which was supposed to be free of such things. But I have been inspired by finding Mr. Mounsey’s remarkable Devil’s Kitchen blog and the discovery that there are lots of other people out there who feel much the same as me, and that some of them are quite intelligent and witty, and feel I must contribute to the conservative online debate. I am in two minds about the subtitle of this blog, though. I mean – in a general sense the term ‘neoconservative’ describes my position quite well, but the term is perhaps a little too closely identified with a particular party and tendency in the USA; not that I don’t empathise with much of their thinking. Perhaps my term ‘conservative anarchist’, borrowed from George Orwell, is better?

Anyway, in the meantime, while I think this out, do please visit http://devilskitchen.me.uk/ – it’s well worth a read and has a myriad links and recommendations. A word of warning to the sensitive – the language is frequently somewhat rich!

2 Responses to Here we go again

  1. Thanks for your appreciation! It’s the fact that people continually appreciate my ramblings and ravings that keep my writing…

    For what it’s worth, I would drop the “neoconservative” label unless you want to have all of your views instantly dismissed, by those who disagree with your writings, with reference to nothing more than that word.

    DK

  2. lahgbr says:

    Yes – I think you’re probably right there.

Leave a Reply

